DJJ Organization

The Georgia Department of Juvenile Justice is led by Commissioner Avery D. Niles, who provides organizational leadership and establishes the vision for the agency, which is headquartered in Decatur. DJJ also has 26 Secure Facilities and 96 Community Services Offices throughout the state.

The Executive Management Team is comprised of two Assistant Commissioners, five Special Staff members who report directly to the Commissioner and five Deputy Commissioners who oversee the Division of Community Services, Division of Secure Campuses and Operations and Compliance, Division of Secure Detention, Division of Administrative Services and Division of Support Services. Detailed organizational charts for each division are hyperlinked in the highlighted text below.

DJJ Commissioner Avery D. Niles

Office of Commissioner - Avery D. Niles, Commissioner

While the Commissioner oversees all of DJJ, this particular organizational chart reflects the executive management team, as well as other direct reports including the Assistant Commissioner/Chief of Staff, a second Assistant Commissioner, the Office of Legal Services, Office of Government Relations, Division of Education and the Office of Financial Services.

Cindy Wang

Office of Legal Services - Cindy Wang

John Smith

Office of Government Relations - John Smith

Jean Lee

Division of Education - Jean Lee

Andrew Laarhoven

Division of Financial Services - Andrew Laarhoven

Joe Vignati

Assistant Commissioner / Chief of Staff - Joe Vignati

The Chief of Staff is responsible for implementing the Commissioner`s guidance, providing strategic leadership and for the day-to-day operational activities of the Department. Direct reports include three Deputy Commissioners (Secure Detention, Secure Campuses and Operations and Compliance and Administrative Services), the Office of Human Resources and the Office of the Ombudsman.

Assistant Commissioner - Sean Hamilton

The Assistant Commissioner is responsible for implementing the Commissioner's guidance and providing strategic activities of the two Divisions under his supervision. Direct reports include the Division of Community Services, the Division of Support Services, the Office of Chaplaincy Services, the Office of Communications and the Office of Planning and Preparedness.

Catina Martin-Fenner
Division of Community Services - Catina Martin-Fenner, Deputy Commissioner

The Division of Community Services has 4 Regions which are comprised of 11 Districts with 96 Community Services Offices throughout the state. The division also includes the Office of Reentry Services.

Division of Secure Campuses -- Sherry Shoats, Deputy Commissioner

The Division is responsible for the daily management of seven Youth Development Campuses (YDCs).

Division of Secure Detention – Pamela Johnson, Deputy Commissioner

The Division of Secure Detention is responsible for the daily management of 19 Regional Youth Detention Centers (RYDCs) in the DJJ system.

Margaret Cawood
Division of Support Services – Margaret Cawood, Deputy Commissioner

This division oversees the Office of Classification and Transportation Services, the Office of Health Services and the Office of Behavioral Health Services. 

Shawanda Reynolds-Cobb
Division of Administrative Services - Shawanda Reynolds-Cobb, Deputy Commissioner

This division oversees the Office of Contracts, Office of Grants and Building Services, Office of Technology and Information Services, Office of Engineering, Office of Assets and Property Management, Office of Continuous Improvement as well as DJJ's Criminal History Unit.