Pathway to Success (GED)

Pathway to Success (GED)

The Georgia Department of Juvenile Justice offers an Adult Education program, Pathway to Success.  To be eligible for Adult Education, students must be at least 16 years of age.  A school counselor must review their high school transcript to determine that the placement is appropriate and complete a program admission form.  For students under the age of 18, parental consent must be obtained prior to the student being placed in the Adult Education program. 

Once a student has been enrolled in the program, he or she will use individualized plans to progress through the program to become test ready.  The TABE 11/12 (Test of Adult Basic Education) along with the GED Ready Official Practice Tests, will be used to determine GED readiness.  Students must meet the required 536 Reading score and 537 Math score on the TABE 11/12, in order to be eligible to take the GED Ready tests.  

Pathway to Success logo

There are four subject areas that students will be tested in: Math, Science, Social Studies, and Reasoning through Language Arts. Once the student is eligible to take the GED Ready Official Practice Tests, they must score at least a 145 on the practice test to be eligible to take the Official GED Test in that subject area.  If a student is under the age of 18, they must meet additional requirements in order to be approved for testing (150 or higher on at least two of the GED Ready, 40+ hours of enrollment along with TABE 11/12 requirements). 

The Pathway to Success Adult Education Program is available to students at all DJJ facilities.  Students interested in being a part of this program must be approved and placed by the high school counselor.  A test administrator from the assigned technical college will come the facility to administer the test. Results are usually received within two days.

Our campuses are served by the following Technical Colleges:

YDC Youth Served Affiliated Technical College Website
Atlanta YDC 15-21 year old males GA Piedmont Technical College https://www.gptc.edu/
Augusta YDC 15-21 year old males Augusta Technical College https://www.augustatech.edu/
Eastman YDC 15-21 year old males Oconee Fall Line Technical College https://www.oftc.edu/
Gainesville RYDC 15-21 year old males Lanier Technical College http://www.laniertech.edu/
Macon YDC 15-21 year old females Central GA Technical College http://www.centralgatech.edu/
Metro RYDC 15-21 year old females/males GA Piedmont Technical College https://www.gptc.edu/
Milledgeville YDC 15-21 year old males Central GA Technical College http://www.centralgatech.edu/
Muscogee YDC 15-21 year old males Columbus Technical College https://www.columbustech.edu/

 

What happens if I lose my diploma and transcript, or need an additional official transcript for an employer?

Additional copies can be obtained online, through the mail or in person.  Replacement copies cost $15 and can be obtained by accessing the following link:

https://tcsg.edu/ged_trans_req.php

In order to redeem your HOPE Voucher to enroll in classes, please contact the Georgia Student Finance Commission by accessing the following link:

https://www.gafutures.org/hope-state-aid-programs/hope-zell-miller-scholarships/hope-scholarship/application-procedure-and-deadline

For additional resources and information regarding GED, please feel free to visit the following link:

https://www.gedtestingservice.com/educators/home

Events Schedule

Holly Cannon
Adult Education Program Specialist

Phone: (404) 823-5062
melissacannon@djj.state.ga.us

Locations Instructors Email Phone
Atlanta YDC Shannon Wilson shannonwilson@djj.state.ga.us (770) 306-6610
Augusta YDC Deshawne Blocker deshawneblocker@djj.state.ga.us (706) 792-7524
Bibb County ETC Nathaniel Ashmon nathaniel.ashmon@djj.state.ga.us (478) 207-1401
Chatham County ETC Dallacey McCall dellaceymccall@djj.state.ga.us (912) 303-1900
Eastman YDC Anthony Ononye anthony.ononye@djj.state.ga.us (478) 374-6826
Eastman YDC Cynthia Gilbert cynthia.gilbert@djj.state.ga.us (478) 374-6826
Gainesville RYDC Martrez Milner mmilner@laniertech.edu (770) 531-4538
Macon YDC Nathaniel Ashmon nathaniel.ashmon@djj.state.ga.us (478) 752-1873
Martha K. Glaze RYDC Koran Kanaifu korankanaifu@djj.state.ga.us (770) 603-4663
Metro RYDC Shane Terry shane.terry@djj.state.ga.us (404) 624-2333
Milledgeville YDC Frank Usher frank.usher@djj.state.ga.us (478) 445-3140
Muscogee ETC Zalea Temple zalea.temple@djj.state.ga.us (706) 565-3082
Richmond County ETC Narissia Johnson narissiajohnson@djj.state.ga.us (706) 792-7290
Terrell RYDC Kelvin Pless kelvinpless@djj.state.ga.us (229) 995-8540