Division of Secure Facilities

The Division of Secure Facilities provides oversight and leadership for 19 Regional Youth Detention Centers (RYDCs)  and the 6 Youth Development Centers (YDCs) located throughout the State of Georgia ranging from 30 to 200-bed capacities.

The RYDCs are secure short-term centers for youth awaiting court to enter the community, placement in the community or long-term facilities serving youthful offenders.

Each RYDC follows departmental policy and procedures and provides quality services in the following areas: Medical, Education, Behavioral Health, Nutrition and general programming.

The YDCs are for youth who have been committed to the custody of DJJ for long-term services and treatments

Each YDC follows departmental policy and procedures based on federal and state law and a variety of professional standards. Each facility provides youth services that include education, health and mental health services, food services, resident counseling, substance abuse units, vocational programming, and family visitation, among other services.

To view a complete mapping of our secure facilities, click here 

P Hill

Deputy Commissioner - Division of Secure Facilities