Division of Secure Detention

The Division of Secure Detention provides oversight and leadership for 19 Regional Youth Detention Centers (RYDCs) located throughout the State of Georgia ranging from 30 to 200-bed capacities.

The RYDCs are secure short-term centers for youth awaiting court to enter the community, placement in the community or long-term facilities serving youthful offenders.

Each RYDC follows departmental policy and procedures and provides quality services in the following areas: Medical, Education, Behavioral Health, Nutrition and general programming.

Division of Secure Detention

3408 Covington Highway

Decatur, Georgia 30032

To view a complete mapping of RYDC facilities, click here.

Pamela Johnson, Deputy Commissioner