The Department of Juvenile Justice (DJJ) offers careers at Youth Development Campuses and Regional Youth Detention Centers statewide. DJJ's Correctional positions include; Juvenile Correctional Officer I, Juvenile Correctional Officer II, Sergeant, Lieutenant and Captain. 


The Department of Juvenile Justice Correctional staff is responsible for providing a safe and secure environment for the rehabilitation and custody of committed youth. Our responsibility also includes supervising their juvenile offender’s activities while maintaining control and order in facilities.  The work is demanding and requires maturity, reliability and self-discipline.

All juvenile correctional positions within DJJ are certified peace officers.  Applicants must meet specific requirements, including completing DJJ’s training academy, to become certified by the Georgia Peace Officer Standards and Training (POST) Council.



To be considered for any DJJ correctional position, applicants must meet the following entry requirements:

  • 18 years of age or older
  • High School Diploma or GED
  • U.S. Citizenship
  • No felony convictions
  • Valid Driver’s License (provide a copy with application)
  • Successful completion of background check, pre-employment drug screening and physical examination



All applicants must complete and submit a State of Georgia application online at team.georgia.gov/careers. You can also visit us in-person at any DJJ secure facility Monday through Friday, from 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.

To be considered for the position of Juvenile Correction Officer 1, applicants will be required to receive a passing score on the P.O.S.T.-approved COMPASS Test. The COMPASS test is administered through the Georgia Technical College System, and reservations are required. Please contact one of the many Technical Colleges throughout the State.

Applicants will be required to take a completed copy of the P.O.S.T. Examination Access Form with you to the exam site. Click here to access the DJJ application form.



DJJ offers a one-time Military Salary Increase Incentive to current/former military service members on eligible job titles who have served on active duty. To be eligible, service members must have an Honorable Discharge. The one-time incentive will be based upon the current number of active-duty years served.



Applicants who have obtained a four-year degree from an accredited college or university OR have previously been POST-certified are exempt from taking the COMPASS test. Applicants must include a copy of their degree or POST Profile when submitting their application to be considered.

There is a fee to take the exam of $15.00 - $25.00 collected by the college. Test scores are also valid for entrance into the Technical College System of Georgia.

Start today on your way to a great career!