Connections Graduate Program (CGP)

The Connections Graduate Program (CGP) is designed to prepare Georgia Preparatory Academy and GED graduates opportunities for college and/or careers that demand them to be intelligent, skilled and critical thinkers.  As graduates plan to transition back to their communities, CGP will prepare them to adjust to everyday, educational or professional life and empower them to understand the social, moral and legal implications of what they do.  CGP curriculum provides in-depth exposure to a range of disciplines that assists graduates to be college- or career -ready upon their release from the Department of Juvenile Justice.

Mission Statement

The Connections Graduate Program is dedicated to providing opportunities for graduates to obtain college, career and life skills that promote personal growth and development.

Vision Statement

It is our vision that each graduate will transition into the community as a cultured and refined student, employee or employer functioning as a productive member of society.

Guiding Principle

From Correction to Connection

Five-Point Programmatic Thrusts

  1. Educational Development

  2. Employability Development

  3. Leadership Development

  4. Life Skills & Enrichment Development

  5. Wellness Development


Division of Education
3408 Covington Highway
Decatur, GA 30032-1513

Avery Niles, Superintendent
Jean Ferguson Lee, Associate Superintendent
Zane Shelfer, Assistant Superintendent

Carrie T. Hamilton-Shavers, CGP Coordinator
Phone: (404) 508-6512
Fax: (770) 357-8434
carriehamilton@djj.state.ga.us


CGP Locations CGP Instructors
Atlanta YDC Teresa Willis | teresawillis@djj.state.ga.us
Augusta YDC Tiffany Agnew | tiffany.agnew@djj.state.ga.us
Eastman YDC Elinor Goode | elinorgoode@djj.state.ga.us
Macon YDC Corinthian French | corinthianfrench@djj.state.ga.us
Milledgeville YDC Daniel Sovereign | danielsovereign@djj.state.ga.us
Muscogee YDC Detra Harvey | detraharvey@djj.state.ga.us
Sumter YDC Taria Willis | taria.willis@djj.state.ga.us