## Board of Juvenile Justice Monday, January 10, 2011 10:00 a.m.

## Department of Juvenile Justice 3408 Covington Highway Decatur, Georgia 30032-1513

## **Opening Remarks**

Dr. Edwin Risler, Vice Chairman

Board Vice Chairman Dr. Edwin Risler called to order the January 10, 2011 special called meeting of the Board of Juvenile Justice. He noted the time as 10:00 a.m.

DJJ Staff Present via conference call: Amy V. Howell; Bill Amideo; Scheree Moore

**Board Members via conference call**: Larry Barnes; Michael Baugh; Elizabeth Lindsey; Judy Mecum; Daniel Menefee; Dr. Edwin Risler; Steven Simpson; Elaine Snow; Sandra Taylor

Advisory Council Members via conference call: Judge Quintress Gilbert

Bill Amideo noted the presence of a quorum.

## Appointment of Amy V. Howell, Commissioner

Vice Chairman Dr. Edwin Risler Board of Juvenile Justice

Vice Chairman Dr. E. Risler thanked the Board members for attending the special called meeting via conference call. He stated Governor elect Nathan Deal designated Amy V. Howell to be the new Commissioner of the Department of Juvenile Justice. Dr. Risler said Governor Deal has scheduled the swearing in ceremony for DJJ's new Commissioner for Tuesday, January 18, 2011. Under Georgia Law, it is the responsibility of the Board to appoint the Commissioner as approved by the Governor.

Vice Chairman Dr. Risler thanked Commissioner Garland Hunt for the exemplary leadership he showed in leading DJJ over the past seven months and wished him well in his future endeavors and leadership roles.

Vice Chairman Dr. Risler asked for a motion that Amy V. Howell be appointed as the new Commissioner of the Department of Juvenile Justice, replacing Garland Hunt, to be effective immediately.

Vice Chairman Dr. Risler Shuman asked if any Board members had any questions. Hearing none; Vice Chairman Dr. Risler asked for a motion from the Board to appoint Amy V. Howell as the Commissioner of the Department of Juvenile Justice.

The motion was made by Elizabeth Lindsey to appoint Amy V. Howell, the Commissioner of the Department of Juvenile Justice. Board member Sandra Taylor seconded the motion.

Vice Chairman Dr. Risler asked if there was any discussion.

The Board noted unanimously in support of the motion.

Vice Chairman Dr. Ed. Risler stated the vote carries and Amy V. Howell is the Department of Juvenile Justice's new Commissioner.

Vice Chairman Dr. Ed. Risler and the Board congratulated Amy V. Howell, Commissioner of the Department of Juvenile Justice.

Commissioner Amy V. Howell thanked the Board for their support and stated that she looked forward to working with them.

Vice Chairman Dr. Risler asked for a motion to adjourn the special called meeting of the Board of Juvenile Justice. It was motioned and seconded for the meeting to be adjourned.

Dr. Edwin Risler, Vice Chairman	Amy V. Howell	
Board of Juvenile Justice	Commissioner	
Daniel A. Menefee, Secretary		
Board of Juvenile Justice		