GEORGIA CRIME
VICTIMS
COMPENSATION
PROGRAM (CVCP)

Crime Victims Compensation assists eligible
victims of violent crime with actual
expenses caused by the crime. Crime
Victims Compensation is a payer of last
resort and does not cover expenses that
have been already covered by a third-party
(e.g, insurance sick leave, worker's
compensation). The total award amount
cannot exceed $25,000 and the categorical
caps are as follows: Medical Expenses $15,
000; Counseling Bills $3,000; Funeral
Expenses $3,000; Lost Wages/Support
$10,000; and Crime Scene Clean-up $1500.

There are other eligibility requirements. For
moare information, please contact the
Georgia Crime Victims Compensation
Program at 104 Marietta Street, Suite 440,
Atlanta, Georgia, 30349, 1-404-657-1965, or
1-800-547-0060 (victims only).

WHAT ELSE
SHOULD I KNOW?

You may submit an application even if there
is no known offender. Prosecution is not a
program requirement.

CVCP is the payer of last resort. This means
your benefits will be reduced by the
monies you receive from any other source
as a result of the crime, such as insurance,
restitution, and civil suit settlements.

Georgia Department
of Juvenile Justice

3408 Covington Highway
Decatur, Georgia 30032

Phone: 1-866-922-6360

WWW.DJJNEWSANDVIEWS.ORG
/VICTIMSERVICES
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WHAT IS RESTITUTION?

Whenever someone suffers a loss through a
crime and a person is found guilty of that crime
in a court of law, the victim is entitled to receive
reimbursement for those expenses that were
out- [?ijPOCket to the victim. This reimbursement
is calle

WHA’I‘ TYPLES OF
XPENSES DOES
l{LS'l‘l'l‘U'l‘l(l\T COVER?

* * Ok * *

HOW IS RESTITUTION
DECIDED?

If the juvenile is ad judicated or found guilty of
committing a misdemeanor or felony, the
Probation Officer is required to prepare and
submit a pre-sentence report to the court.

The local Office of Victim Services should
contact you and provide a Victim Impact
Statement detalling your loss information.

You will be asked to submit receipts or any
other documentation associated with your
out-of-pocket expenses related to the offense.

A Court Official will then prepare a report to
the court and include a recommendation of the
amount the offender should be required to pay
you. If the amount of losses is unknown at that
time, a recommendation will be made that
restitution should be ordered once the loss
amount has been determined.

WHEN IS RESTITUTION
ORDERED AND PAID?

A judge normally orders restitution at the
disposition hearing when the offender is
sentenced. After reviewing the loss report
recommendations from the Probation Office,
the judge decides the amount of restitution the
offender should pay.

If the losses are unknown, the judge may order
S restitution amount to be determined at a later
ate.

It is important that you contact the Probation
Department as soon as you have your losses
determined so an order can be obtained.

Keep in mind that there may be statute of
limitations and therefore it is important to
provide loss documentation as soon as
possible.

Restitution is paid to the Clerk of the Juvenile
Court in the county of the crime. The
Department of Juvenile Justice staff monitors
the offender to ensure that the payments have
been made as ordered by the Court. Restitution
is distributed to the victim by the Clerk of the
Juvenile Court.

In order to enforce the restitution order,
Juvenile Courts are authorized and may retain
jurisdiction over a juvenile subject to a
restitution order until the juvenile reaches 21
years of age. If the restitution remains unpaid
once the juvenile reaches age 21, the Juvenile
Eourt shall transfer the matter to Superior
ourt.

Under certain circumstances where the
restitution remains unpaid, the juvenile's
restitution may be transferred to Superior Court
at the time the juvenile reaches 18 years of age.
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CIVIL ACTIONS
MAY HELP WHERE
RESTITUTION
JANNOT

Restitution and compensation do not cover
a victim's full economic loss. Neither pays
anything for hard to quantify damages such
as pain and suffering. A civil lawsuit may
provide additional compensation for the
victim.

The civil justice system does not attempt to
determine the innocence or guilt of an
offender. Rather, civil courts attempt to
determine whether an offender is liable for
the injuries sustained as a result of the
crime.

In some cases, you can obtain a civil
judgment against the juvenile offender’s
parents or legal guardians. However,
specific questions regarding filing civil
judgments should be addressed by your
attorney.



