DEPARTMENT OF JUVENILE JUSTICE

Avery D. Niles, Commissioner



3408 Covington Highway, Decatur, GA 30032 Telephone: 404-508-7200, Fax: 404-508-7340

Board of Juvenile Justice Thursday, September 27, 2018 Decatur, GA 10:00 am

Opening Remarks

Chair Elaine Snow called to order the meeting of the Board of Juvenile Justice at 10:06 am. The meeting was held at the DJJ Central Office.

DJJ Staff Present: Commissioner Avery D. Niles, Associate Superintendent Jean Lee, Deputy Commissioner Pamela Johnson, Assistant Commissioner Sean Hamilton, Deputy Commissioner Shawanda Reynolds-Cobb, Edith E. Darden, Director John T. Smith, Mary Catherine Heard, Assistant Deputy Commissioner Victor Roberts, Director Mike Barton, Ombudsman Herman Archie, Assistant Deputy Commissioner Allyson Richardson, Deputy Commissioner Sherry Shoats, Chaplain Danny Horne, Assistant Deputy Commissioner Martha Dalesio, Assistant Deputy Commissioner Lisa Mantz, William Smith, Director Scott Cagle, CFO Andrew Laarhoven, General Counsel Cindy Wang, Racquel Watson, Rusty Rodgers, Director Glenn Allen, Windy Hix, Director Latera Davis, Andrew McGee, Tomika Grigsby, Director Chris Wood, Cathy Dravis, Deputy Commissioner Catina Martin-Fenner, Deputy Commissioner Pamela Johnson, Tricia Williams, Cheryl Nell, Jacquelyn Riddle, Brian Harrelson, Royal Godfrey, Ruma Miller, Helen Troutt, Dana Phillips, Mary Shepherd, Donica Thompson, Dr. Christy Doyle, Wendy Edwards, Janet Regular

Others Present: Amy Radley, Attorney General's Office; Helen Sloat, Nelson Mullins; Sabrina Garrett, DFCS;

Secretary's Report: Secretary Adam Kennedy conducted the Roll Call. The following members were present: Willie Bolton, Thomas Coleman, Adam Kennedy, Julia Neighbors, Elaine Snow, Fred Stephens, Kelly Stewart (teleconference), Sandra H. Taylor, Judge Lisa G. Colbert, Angie Holt, Spurgeon Ambrose, John Edwards (teleconference) and Steve Teske

Chair Snow asked for a motion to approve the current agenda. A motion was made by the Board and seconded. The motion carried unanimously.

Chair Snow asked for a motion to approve the minutes of the August 23, 2018 Board Meeting. A motion was made by the Board and seconded. The motion carried unanimously.

Commissioner's Report

The Commissioner's Report was previously submitted to the Board via email and it was included in the Board materials. Commissioner Niles presented his report to the Board.

The following topics were discussed:

The Commissioner introduced the Communications Director Glenn Allen, Chief of Investigations Scott Cagle, and gave other staff updates. He also commended Division of Community Services Program Coordinator Cathy Dravis and presented her with the Commissioner's Challenge Coin.

The Faithful Service awards were presented by HR Manager, Ms. Jennifer Statham. There were four recipients.

Commissioner Niles welcomed Deputy Commissioner Catina Martin-Fenner back to after being out on extended leave.

Dr. Christy Doyle, Director of the Office of Behavioral Health Services presented on mental health services and the SAVRY (Structured Assessment of Violence Risk in Youth) project (Addendum A). The workgroup is developing a pilot program. Board Member Colbert mentioned implicit bias training.

This concluded the Commissioner's report.

Chair Snow asked for a motion to adjourn from the regular DJJ Board Meeting and reconvene as the DJJ School Board. A motion was made by Board Member Taylor and seconded by Board Member Colbert. The motion carried unanimously.

Board of Education

Associate Superintendent Jean Lee updated the Board on the GED and CTAE programs. Assistant Deputy Commissioner of Support Services Lisa Mantz mentioned the Department being awarded an Honorary Golden Radish Award (utilizing Georgia grown products).

The Board discussed ways of assisting DJJ youth to enter the work force or military.

The Board was asked to save the date of December 14th, 2018 as the date of the Georgia Preparatory Academy graduation.

Chair Snow asked for a motion to adjourn from the DJJ School Board and reconvene as the regular DJJ Board. A motion was made by the Board and seconded. The motion carried unanimously.

Old Business

No old business

Comments:

Chair Snow thanked everyone for their participation. Chief Financial Officer Andrew Laarhoven was commended by the Commissioner. Board member Kennedy commended Commissioner Niles and Deputy Commissioner Catina Martin-Fenner on their support of the work readiness enrichment program.

New Business

At the urging of Advisory Judicial Council Member Teske, Board Member Bolton moved to implement the SAVRY pilot program in Chatham, Clayton, and Macon-Bibb County. He then amended his motion, seconded by Vice-Chair Taylor, to evaluate the feasibility of implementing a SAVRY pilot program (fiscal and operational feasibility). The amended motion was approved unanimously.

Comments:

The next Commissioner's Youth Council will take place on October 2nd, 2018 at 9:30 am at the DJJ Central Office.

Chair Snow announced that the next Board Meeting would be held on Thursday, October 25th, 2018 at 10:00 am, DJJ Central Office, Decatur, GA.

The meeting was adjourned.	
Elaine P. Snow, Chair	Avery D. Niles, Commissioner
Board of Juvenile Justice	Department of Juvenile Justice
Adam Kennedy, Board Secretary	
Board of Juvenile Justice	