Avery D. Niles, Commissioner



DEPARTMENT OF JUVENILE JUSTICE

3408 Covington Highway, Decatur, GA 30032 Telephone: 404-508-7200, Fax: 404-508-7340

Board of Juvenile Justice Thursday, October 26, 2017 Decatur, GA 10:00 AM

Opening Remarks

Chair Elaine P. Snow called to order the meeting of the Board of Juvenile Justice at 10:00 am. The meeting was held at DJJ Central Office Decatur, GA.

DJJ Staff Present: Commissioner Avery D. Niles (via teleconference), Assistant Commissioner Keith Horton, Chief of Staff Joe Vignati, Associate Superintendent Jean Lee, Deputy Commissioner Shawanda Reynolds-Cobb, Acting Deputy Commissioner John Pearson, Deputy Commissioner Catina Martin-Fenner, Director Scott Mall, , Assistant Deputy Commissioner Pamela Johnson, Deputy Commissioner Sean Hamilton, Edith E. Darden, Director Allyson Richardson, Director John T. Smith, Mary Catherine Heard, General Counsel Cindy Wang, Chaplain Danny Horne, , Tomika Grigsby, Andrew McGee, , Director Latera Davis, Director Scott Cagle, Director Mary Shepherd, Carrie T. Hamilton-Shavers, Chief Financial Officer Andrew Laarhoven, Deputy Commissioner Margaret Cawood, Melissa Cannon, Assistant Director Chris Wood, Director Debaja Coleman, Deputy Commissioner Sean Hamilton, Assistant Deputy Commissioner Victor Roberts, Director Joan Quinn-Cannon, Assistant Deputy Commissioner Michael McNeely, Tracy Cassell, Kim Todd, Dr. Christy Doyle, Chief Audit Executive William Smith, Director Mike Barton, Hilroy Wilson, Kristi Johnson, Brian Harrelson, Ombudsman Herman Archie, Doricia Thompson, B. Keith Jones, Robert Kiedinger, Dana Phillips, Assistant Deputy Commissioner Lisa Mantz, Interim HR Director Charmaine Johnson, Dr. Letunya Walker, Zane Shelfer, Tamara Middlebrooks, Deputy Chief Financial Officer Bakia Parrish, Tricia Phillips Williams, Chaplain Y. Thompson

Others Present: Amy Radley, Attorney General's Office

Secretary's Report: Vice Chair Sandra Heath-Taylor conducted the Roll Call. The following members were present: Penny Penn, Willie C. Bolton, Adam Kennedy (via teleconference), Dr. Thomas Coleman, Sandra Heath-Taylor, Angie Holt (teleconference), Richard Ambrose, John Edwards, Elaine Snow, Fred Stephens, Dick Yarbrough

Chair Snow asked for a motion to approve the current agenda. A motion was made by Board member Bolton and seconded by Board member Ambrose. The motion carried unanimously.

Chair Snow asked for a motion to approve the minutes of the August 24, 2017 Board Meeting. A motion was made by Board Member Taylor and seconded by Board Member Coleman. The motion carried unanimously.

Commissioner's Report

The Commissioner Report was previously submitted to the Board via email and it was included in the Board materials. Commissioner Niles participated via teleconference. Chief of Staff Joe Vignati presented the Commissioner's report.

The following topics were discussed:

Employee Relations Manager Kristi Johnson presented the Employee Faithful Service Awards.

Chief of Staff Vignati introduced the new executive team members. Andrew Laarhoven was promoted to Chief Financial officer. New employees included Interim Human Resource Director Charmaine Johnson, Deputy Chief Financial Officer Bakia Parrish and Chief Audit Executive William Smith.

Assistant Deputy Commissioner of Support Services Lisa Mantz presented on the Department's efforts in the State Charitable Contributions Campaign.

Director of Planning and Preparedness Scott Cagle gave a brief overview of the Irma evacuation of the Savannah RYDC.

Chief of Staff Vignati gave a brief update on the Claxton RYDC escape.

Commissioner Niles ended the Commissioner's report with brief comments regarding staff updates and Hurricane Irma.

Chair Snow asked for a motion to adjourn from the regular DJJ Board Meeting and reconvene as the DJJ School Board. A motion was made by Board Member Bolton and seconded by Board Member Ambrose. The motion carried unanimously.

Board of Education

During the DJJ Board of Education meeting, the following topics were discussed:

Associate Superintendent Jean Lee announced the next Georgia Preparatory Academy graduation will be held on December 15th at 1:00 pm. She then introduced CTAE Director Mary Shepherd who presented on the vocational classes and opportunities for DJJ youth. **(Addendum A)**

Chair Snow asked for a motion to adjourn from the DJJ School Board and reconvene as the regular DJJ Board. A motion was made by Board member Bolton and seconded by Board member Thomas. The motion carried unanimously.

Old Business

No old business

Comments:

Chair Snow welcomed Board member Yarbrough back. Chair Snow shared a picture with the board regarding Mr. Kevin Burle and youth volunteers at a Rome event. Chair Snow reminded the Board of future events.

New Business

No new business

Comments:

Chief of Staff Joe Vignati provided information and dates for upcoming events:

Wilkes Ribbon cutting Caldwell groundbreaking Youth Driving Graduation

Chair Snow announced that the next Board Meeting would be held on Thursday, December 14, 2017 at DJJ Headquarters, 3408 Covington Highway, Decatur, GA 30032 at 10:00 AM.

The meeting was adjourned.

Elaine P. Snow Chair Board of Juvenile Justice Avery D. Niles, Commissioner Department of Juvenile Justice

Adam Kennedy, Board Secretary Board of Juvenile Justice