Avery D. Niles, Commissioner



DEPARTMENT OF JUVENILE JUSTICE

3408 Covington Highway, Decatur, GA 30032 Telephone: 404-508-7200, Fax: 404-508-7340

Board of Juvenile Justice Thursday, May 25, 2017 Decatur, GA 10:00 AM

Opening Remarks

Chair Elaine Snow called to order the meeting of the Board of Juvenile Justice at 10:00 am. The meeting was held at DJJ Central Office Decatur, GA.

DJJ Staff Present: Assistant Commissioner Keith Horton, Chief of Staff Joe Vignati, Associate Superintendent Jean Lee, Zane Shelfer, ,Deputy Commissioner Shawanda Reynolds-Cobb, Robb Gilstrap, Scott Cagle, Royal Godfrey, Brian Harrelson, Acting Deputy Commissioner John Pearson, Assistant Deputy Commissioner William Bellflower, Director Christopher Thomas, Sheila Phillips, Monaleto Irby, Director Latera Davis, Director Joan Quinn-Cannon, Melody Stanfield, Director Mike Barton, Deputy Commissioner Catina Martin-Fenner, Deputy Commissioner Sarah Draper, Antonio Banks, Director Scott Mall. Assistant Director Harold Cooper, Yewanda Kendricks, Courtney McGinnis, Assistant Deputy Commissioner Victor Roberts, Teri Stripling, Tamara Mays, Deputy Commissioner Margaret Cawood, Director Lisa Bryson, Assistant Deputy Commissioner Pamela Johnson, Chaplain Danny Horne, Deputy Commissioner Sean Hamilton, Kathy Sidwell, Tenill Ransom, Carrie T. Hamilton-Shavers, Dr. Ron Koon, Tomika Grigsby, Drew Townsend, Kim Todd, Matthew Montgomery, Janseen Robinson, Dr. Michelle Staples-Horne, Jim Shuler, Edith E. Guilford

Others Present: Helen Sloat, Youth Villages/Nelson Mullins; Rebecca Walsh, Special Olympics; Elena Weaver, Special Olympics; Brian Lawler Office of Planning and Budget; Ashley Larrow, Office of Planning and Budget; Rebecca Dobras, Attorney General's Office

Secretary's Report: Secretary Adam Kennedy conducted the Roll Call. The following members were present: Elaine Snow, Penny Penn, Angie Holt, Fred Stephens, Dick Yarbrough, Richard Ambrose, Willie C. Bolton, Adam Kennedy, Julia Neighbors, John Edwards, Dr. Thomas Coleman, and Sandra Heath-Taylor. Judge Quintress Gilbert was via teleconference

Chair Snow asked for a motion to approve the current agenda. A motion was made by Board member Holt and seconded by Board member Ambrose. The motion carried unanimously.

Chair Snow asked for a motion to approve the minutes of the February 23, 2017 Board Meeting. A motion was made by Board Member Bolton and seconded by Board Member Holt. The motion carried unanimously.

Commissioner's Report

The Commissioner Report was previously submitted to the Board via email and it was included in the Board materials.

The following topics were discussed:

Commissioner Avery D. Niles had previously submitted his written report (included in materials). Chief of Staff Joe Vignati presented the Commissioner's report, in the Commissioner's absence.

AC Vignati recognized Victim and Volunteer Services Director Latera Davis. Director Davis introduced Ms. Rebecca Walsh with Special Olympics and Special Olympian Elena Weaver. Ms. Weaver spoke about her participation and thanked the Department of Juvenile Justice for their support.

Deputy HR Director Harold Cooper awarded Employee Appreciation Certificates for dedicated years of service to DJJ employees. AC Vignati announced the retirements of Deputy Commissioner of Secure Campuses Sarah Draper and HR CHU Manager Yewanda Kendricks

Acting Deputy Commissioner of Secure Campuses John Pearson gave a brief report on employee misconduct investigations. Board Member Neighbors asked for a facility breakdown and trends at the next board meeting and she also asked about disciplinary actions against employees with substantiated employee misconduct. Board members Kennedy and Stephens would like facility breakdown numbers of incidents.

New Director of Office of Investigations Mike Barton was introduced.

This concluded the Commissioner's report.

Office of Engineering Director Joan Quinn Cannon presented on the bond-funded projects as well as the bond resolutions

A motion to adopt the bond resolutions was made by Board member Bolton and seconded by Board member Edwards. The motion carried unanimously.

Chair Snow asked for a motion to adjourn from the regular DJJ Board Meeting and reconvene as the DJJ School Board. A motion was made by Board Member Kennedy and seconded by Board Member Taylor. The motion carried unanimously.

Board of Education

During the DJJ Board of Education meeting, the following topics were discussed:

Associate Superintendent Jean Lee introduced Zane Shelfer as the new Assistant Associate Superintendent. Mr. Shelfer presented on the graduation statistics.

Chair Snow asked for a motion to adjourn from the DJJ School Board and reconvene as the regular DJJ Board. A motion was made by Board member Holt and seconded by Board member Kennedy. The motion carried unanimously.

Chair's Comments

Chair Snow thanked the board members who attended the meeting.

Old Business

No old business

New Business

No new business

Comments:

AC Vignati announced Assistant Deputy Commissioner of Secure Facilities Diana Aspinwall's transfer to the Georgia Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental Disabilities.

Chair Snow announced that the next Board Meeting would be held on Thursday, June 22, 2017 at DJJ Headquarters, 3408 Covington Highway, Decatur, GA 30032 at 10:00 AM.

The meeting was adjourned.

Elaine P. Snow, Chair Board of Juvenile Justice Avery D. Niles, Commissioner Department of Juvenile Justice

Adam Kennedy Board Secretary