DEPARTMENT OF JUVENILE JUSTICE

Tyrone Oliver, Commissioner



3408 Covington Highway, Decatur, GA 30032 Telephone: 404-508-7200, Fax: 404-508-7340

Board of Juvenile Justice Thursday, July 25th, 2019 Decatur, GA

Opening Remarks

Vice-Chair Taylor called to order the meeting of the Board of Juvenile Justice at 9:59 am. The meeting was held at the DJJ Central Office, Decatur, GA.

DJJ Staff Present: Chief of Staff Sean C. Hamilton, ADC Michael McNeely, Georgette Wimbush, ADC Allyson Richardson, Chaplain Danny Horne, AC Catina Martin-Fenner, Director Dana Kilpatrick, Assoc. Superintendent Dr. Jean Lee, Kiara Williams, Zane Shelfer, Dr. Rufus Johnson, Montaeya Dixon, Doris Patterson, Andrew McGee, Carolene Maddox, Adam T. Barnette, Carrie T. Hamilton-Shavers, Hilroy Wilson, Ombudsman Herman Archie, Stephanie Henesy, Tamara Barber, DC Victor Roberts, ADC Rusty Rodgers, Sevena Quattlebaum, Andrea Howard, Shanna Buchanan, Chris Saxton, Tomika Grigsby, Director Latera Davis, William Smith, Cathy Dravis, Helen Troutt, Tracy Cassell, Tricia Phillips, Director Windy Hix, Chris Wood, Patsy English, Director Debaja Coleman, DC Sherry Shoats, Lauren Gean, DC Shawanda Reynolds-Cobb, Dr. Ron Koon, Cathy Riggs, Peggy Winsky, Falana Steadman, DC Pamela Johnson, ADC Audrey Stokes, Sophia Thomas, Tamara Mays, Terry Lee, CFO Andrew Laarhoven, Dr. Christy Doyle, Dr. Letunya Walker, Racquel Watson, Percival Griffiths Marsha Heard

Others Present: Amy Radley, Attorney General's Office; Tyrone Oliver, Social Circle PD

Secretary's Report: Secretary Adam Kennedy conducted the Roll Call. The following members were present: Danny Blackmon, Willie Bolton, Sandra H. Taylor, Judge Lisa G. Colbert, Angie Holt, Elaine P. Snow (teleconference), Adam Kennedy, Dick Yarbrough, Dr. Thomas Coleman (teleconference), Penny Penn, Fred Stephens, Judge Quintress Gilbert (teleconference)

Vice-Chair Taylor asked for a motion to approve the current agenda. A motion was made by Board member Kennedy to amend the July 25, 2019 agenda to add an executive session for a personnel matter and to approve the agenda as amended was made, seconded, and approved unanimously.

Vice-Chair Taylor asked for a motion to approve the minutes of the June 27th, 2019 Board meeting. A motion was made by Board member Kennedy to amend the June 27, 2019 minutes to correct that Secretary Kennedy, not Vice-Chair Taylor, conducted the roll call. A motion to approve the minutes as amended was made by Board member Holt and seconded by Board member Yarbrough and approved unanimously.

Vice-Chair Taylor asked for a motion to approve the minutes of the July 17th, 2019 Board meeting. A motion was made by Board member Holt and seconded by Board member Colbert and approved unanimously.

Board Officer Election:

Board member Holt asked for a motion to approve the board officer election of Sandra Taylor as Chair, Willie Bolton as Vice-Chair and Adam Kennedy as Secretary. Board member Yarbrough made the motion and was seconded by Board member Stephens. The Board unanimously elected Sandra Taylor as Chairperson, Willie Bolton as Vice-Chair, and Adam Kennedy as Secretary.

Commissioner's Report:

The Commissioner's Report was included in the Board materials. Chief of Staff Sean C. Hamilton presented the report to the Board.

The following topics were discussed:

Assistant Commissioner Hamilton mentioned the successful ACA audit of two facilities. He provided staff updates including announcing the end of Dr. Jean Lee's tenure as the Associate Superintendent. The Board commended her as well as her education staff. Dr. Lee mentioned the upcoming AdvancEd accreditation process. Assistant Commissioner Hamilton also introduced the new Governmental Relations Director Zachary Louis.

HR Director Dana Kilpatrick presented the Faithful Service certificates. There were three employees recognized.

This concluded the Commissioner's report.

Chair Taylor asked for a motion to adjourn from the regular DJJ Board Meeting and reconvene as the DJJ School Board. A motion was made by Board member Colbert and seconded by Board member Kennedy. The motion carried unanimously.

Board of Education:

Associate Superintendent Jean Lee provided an update on the efforts to transition to online testing for all facilities and teacher vacancies.

Chair Taylor asked for a motion to adjourn from the DJJ School Board and reconvene as the regular DJJ Board. A motion was made by the Board member Kennedy and seconded by Board member Colbert. The motion carried unanimously.

Executive Session:

Secretary Kennedy moved to go into executive session to discuss the personnel matter. Board member Stephens seconded the motion, and the motion passed unanimously.

Once the Board reconvened, Board member Holt moved to appoint Tyrone Oliver as the Commissioner, subject to the approval of the Governor. The motion was seconded by Secretary Kennedy; however, the motion was withdrawn so that the agenda could first be amended to include the vote. Secretary Kennedy moved to amend the agenda to include the vote on appointing Mr. Oliver as the Commissioner. The motion was seconded by Board member Holt and approved by all present except for Board member Stephens. Board Member Holt then moved again to appoint Mr. Oliver as the Commissioner, subject to the approval of the Governor. Secretary Kennedy seconded the motion, and it was approved by all the members present except for Board member Fred Stephens.

Chair's Comments:

Chair Taylor recognized former Chair Snow's work and contributions to the Board. A more formal recognition will be made at a later date.

Old Business:	
No old business	
Comments:	
None	
New Business:	

Secretary Kennedy would like information on the PREA audits, the ACA process (the cost and benefit of the accreditation), and facility improvements.

Board member Bolton would like a report on the admission and release of the youth in the system.

Board member Yarbrough would like the Board to survey the rest of the board members to see what should be addressed. The Board would also like to update the Board directory. Commissioner Oliver addressed the Board and staff.

Comments:

None

Chair Taylor announced the next Board meeting will be held on Thursday, August 22nd, 2019, at 10:00 am, DJJ Central office, Decatur, GA.

The meeting was adjourned.	
Sandra H. Taylor, Chair Board of Juvenile Justice	Sean C. Hamilton, Chief of Staff Department of Juvenile Justice
Adam Kennedy, Board Secretary Board of Juvenile Justice	