

## FORENSIC MEDICAL EXAMINATION & GEORGIA CRIME VICTIMS COMPENSATION

During the 2011 legislative session, the Georgia Crime Victims Compensation Program (CVCP) was mandated by Georgia Statute to pay for forensic medical examinations on behalf of sexual assault victims where the crime occurred on or after July 1, 2011. This legislation allows for forensic evidence to be collected at no cost to the sexual assault victims.

## FME PAYMENT POLICIES AND PROCEDURES

- The sexual assault must have occurred in Georgia on or after July 1, 2011; otherwise, the appropriate law enforcement agency must be billed.
- The CVCP will pay for the cost of a forensic medical examination up to \$1,000 per victim, per victimization.
- The Application for Payment and the HCFA-1500, UB04, UB92, or itemized statement/bill, must be submitted within 1-year of the crime occurring.
- All charges/services associated with the forensic medical examination that was performed must be itemized and submitted with the application, and only those expenses related to the collection of evidence will be considered for payment. The bill must be submitted at one time, within 30 days of the examination.
- A physician, physician assistant, registered nurse, SANE-A (adult adolescent) or SANE-P (pediatric) must have performed the forensic medical examination.
- The provider and/or facility should bill the CVCP the usual and customary charges for the FME on a HCFA-1500, UB04, UB92, or itemized statement/bill. To be considered for reimbursement, the bill for service must include the associated CPT Code or Revenue Code and an itemization of the services provided.

**PLEASE NOTE:** The victim may apply to the Georgia Crime Victims Compensation Program to be considered for other eligible expenses (i.e., medical, mental health counseling, funeral, crime-scene clean-up or lost wages/loss of support).

## **FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS**

- Q Who fills out the FME Application for Payment?
- A The provider and or facility (i.e. hospital, sexual assault center, or child advocacy center) that performed the FME.
- Q Does a separate application need to be submitted for each provider?
- A No. One application is sufficient with the provider and hospital information completed and the bill attached.
- Q If FME expenses are over \$1,000.00, can we bill law enforcement or the patient's insurance for the difference?
- A No. The maximum allowable amount is \$1,000.00 for the collection of evidence for a FME.
- Q What is the maximum CVCP will pay for the facility fee?
- A The maximum that CVCP will reimburse for a facility fee is \$175.00. Please visit our website at cjcc.ga.gov to view the fee schedule.
- Q If I am a SANE, where do I find the "CPT Code or the Revenue Code"?
- A While CPT Codes or Revenue Codes do not customarily apply to SANEs, the bill for service must include a descriptive itemized statement of the service(s) provided. Please refer to the CPT Code/Description of Services Reference Sheet on our website at cjcc.ga.gov to select the applicable description for the medical service(s) provided.
- Q How can follow up STI testing be listed on the initial bill ?
- A A separate bill can be submitted for the follow-up STI testing at a later date if the expenses have not exceeded \$1,000.00.
- Q What is the turnaround time for the FME application?
- A If a completed application packet is submitted, the processing time is under 30 days. Once the application is processed, please allow up to 3 weeks to receive payment.

If you would like more information on our FME policies and procedures, or if you wish to download a FME Application for Payment or a Fee Schedule, please visit our website at cjcc.ga.gov or call us at 404-657-2222.