

#### DEPARTMENT OF JUVENILE JUSTICE

3408 Covington Highway • Decatur, Georgia • 30032 Telephone: (404) 508-7200, Fax: (404) 508-7340

Board of Juvenile Justice Friday, April 18, 2014 9:00 AM

Department of Juvenile Justice

# **Opening Remarks**

Chair Elaine Snow called to order the meeting of the Board of Juvenile Justice at 9:03 AM at 455 Commerce Drive, Statesboro, Georgia 30461.

**DJJ Staff Present:** Commissioner Avery D. Niles; Assistant Commissioner Mark Sexton; Deputy Commissioner Clay Seabolt; Director John T. Smith; Deputy Commissioner Carl Brown; Deputy Commissioner Miguel Fernandez; Deputy Commissioner Michael McNeely; Deputy Commissioner Sarah Draper; CFO Sonja R. Allen; Teri Stripling; Danny Horne; Debbie Alexander-Carter; Director Latera Davis; Bill Martin; Anita Powell; Elizabeth Floyd; Doug Martin; Associate Superintendent Dr. Audrey Armistad; Edith Guilford; Matthew Montgomery; Janssen Robinson; Director Tracy Masters; Director Jim Shuler and Sharon Starks.

**Others Present:** Amy Radley, Office of the Attorney General and Rebecca Dobras, Office of the Attorney General.

**Secretary's Report:** Chair Snow asked Secretary Kennedy to conduct the Roll Call. The following Members were present: Richard Ambrose, Willie Bolton, Angie Holt, Adam Kennedy, Julia Neighbors, Elaine Snow, Franklin Rozier, Fred Stephens and Vice Chair Sandra Taylor.

Chair Snow asked for a motion to amend the current agenda to add the consideration of a Bond Resolution regarding General Obligation Bonds. A motion was made by Secretary Kennedy and seconded by Board Member Ambrose. The motion carried unanimously.

Chair Snow asked for a motion to approve the amended agenda of the current Board Meeting. A motion was made by Secretary Kennedy and seconded by Board Member Bolton. The motion carried unanimously.

Chair Snow asked for a motion to approve the Minutes of the March 27, 2014 Board Meeting. A motion was made by Board Member Holt and seconded by Board Member Stephens. The motion carried unanimously.

# **Commissioner's Report**

The following staff members gave updates on the listed topics:

- CFO Sonja R. Allen Overview of DJJ's FY14 Supplemental and FY15 General and Capital Budgets
- ➤ Deputy Commissioners Carl Brown and Miguel Fernandez Overview of a revised Detention Assessment Instrument that the Board will be asked to approve at a later date. (Addendum A)
- Director Jim Shuler Overview of the Office of Communications (Addendum B)

Teri Stripling of the Office of Engineering presented a Bond Resolution for the Board to approve (Addendum C). A motion to approve the Bond Resolution was made by Vice Chair Taylor and seconded by Board Member Ambrose. The motion carried unanimously.

For additional details on the above topics, please see Addendums A-C.

Chair Snow asked for a motion to adjourn from the Regular DJJ Board Meeting and reconvene to the DJJ School Board Meeting. A motion was made by Secretary Kennedy and seconded by Board Member Holt. The motion carried unanimously.

### **Board of Education**

Associate Superintendent Dr. Audrey Armistad discussed the following topics:

- Alternative school placements for youth returning to communities after being released from DJJ. (For additional details, please see Addendum D.)
- Graduation scheduled for May 23, 2014

Chair Snow asked for a motion to adjourn from the DJJ School Board Meeting and reconvene to the Regular DJJ Board Meeting. A motion was made by Board Member Bolton and seconded by Board Member Stephens. The motion carried unanimously.

## **Chair's Comment**

#### **Old Business**

There was no Old Business before the Board.

### **New Business**

Chair Snow thanked everyone for their participation and assistance in moving the April 2014 Board Meeting to Statesboro, Georgia. She also discussed the school graduation that is scheduled for Friday, May 23, 2014 in Augusta, Georgia. She encouraged attendance from everyone that was able to attend.

The next Board Meeting will be held on May 22, 2014 at the DJJ Headquarters in Decatur, GA.  The meeting was adjourned.	
Elaine P. Snow, Chair	Avery D. Niles
Board of Juvenile Justice	Commissioner
Adam Kennedy	
Board Secretary	